Music Friday: On Father’s Watch

 

Hello! Let’s all tread together the treacherous path of the final day of the work week joined by some great music!

Have I mentioned that I have actually been enjoying Assassin’s Creed: Unity? While I skipped (but am curious about) ACIV, all ACIII did for me was leave a bad taste in my mouth – I didn’t enjoy it very much. It did have a tall order, following one of my favorite games of that generation (ACII). However, be it the wonderful graphics or the polished gameplay (parkour is always messy in AC games, but infiltrating places feels better than ever), something is making me want to play more Unity.

The soundtrack, like most ACs, isn’t particularly mind-blowing as a whole but like most ACs, it holds a few tracks or motifs that can’t help but ingrain themselves into your mind. One such piece is inside the track I chose today. The track follows an early sequence in the game but it is particularly the piece that begins at 0:55, and it’s primary melody at 1:10, that are memorable for me. They’re re-inforced as an important part of the Unity OST, for they appear sporadically during the game – being as a soft melody while you walk the streets of Paris, or as a theme that plays during your meetings with a certain someone.

As a whole, I’m having fun with AC:Unity. It’s not gonna revolutionize how you see AC games (if you don’t like them, Unity probably won’t change that) but it does feel like a good entry (even despite the occasional glitches) with a likeable main character, interesting secondary ones, and a world that surpasses every other AC world before it (at least in my humble opinion).

Share your thoughts!

