Una Eorzea renacida

Blaugust – Day 19

Una buena idea?

La otra noche conversando con la Compañía Libre, cuando llegamos al tema de mi acento salió a relucir que mi idioma principal obviamente no es el Inglés. Creo que alguien preguntó porqué no había un cliente en español de Fantasía Final XIV. No sería el primer Juego en Línea de Multijugador Masivo que lo hace… entonces porqué no este?

Wut…?

Oh! My apologies! Just following the train of thought from last night! And for the record: no, I don’t fancy a FFXIV client in Spanish. I didn’t even fancy the World of Warcraft client for Latin America, either.

¿Por qué?

I’m not really a fan of “dubs”, as people call them. When it comes to series or anime I often prefer the original language. I wouldn’t watch House M.D. in Spanish, as I would not enjoy Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood with English voices. In videogames, however, I often prefer to go with the standard “English” NA version.

But… games are also mostly from Japan! Why not in Japanese?

I think it’s because most of the time they’re not just translated, but also localized, and thus would miss many idiosyncratic things that I would otherwise not even know in a Japanese translation.

Hoz contra guadaña

When WoW launched its Spanish client for Latin American players I was relatively fresh with the game, but the small time with it made me quite comfortable with the English names for everything: places, abilities, gear, etc. When I tried switching to spanish I felt truly lost.

If XIV ever did this, I’m sure I would feel lost as well – it’d make a familiar world into an unfamiliar one. I would go from casting Fire I to casting Fuego I; from Blizzard I to Tormenta de Nieve I (or maybe Nevada I); my Thunder I would become Trueno I. It sounds weird. I can go bonkers trying to imagine what names would things have…

Dungeons? Instalaciones de Investigación Aetheroquímicas. Nuncacosecha. El Puño del Padre. La Bobina Unificadora de Bahamut. La Parada Larga de Brayflox.

Zones? Sierras Occidentales de Coerthas. Mar de Nubes. Promontorio de Dravania. Las Nieblas Batidas. Las Tierras Posteriores de Dravania. Azys… oh wait, that’s a name XD

Abilities?! Fuego, Tormenta de Nieve and Trueno. Ojo por Ojo. Golpes Calmantes. Golpes Enfurecidos. Casteo Rápido. Fustigar.

I get a headache from thinking what XIV would be if it was ported to spanish.

Debe haber un lado positivo…

And there is! Of course there is: target. Despite what the internet would have you believe, not everyone speaks English. Providing a Spanish client for your game immediately boosts your target audience and possible player base. Blizzard (the game company, not the spell) was quite smart in that sense.

¿Te cambiarías?

No, I sincerely wouldn’t. I prefer the game in English. Couldn’t even play it with Japanese voices! But in the end options are options, and if more people could be brought by offering the game in spanish it’d mean more possible players.

And as long as the translation is good, I’m sure it’d be even fun to switch voice language every now and then, for laughs.

 


Want to know more about Blaugust? Do check the original information post made by the ever wonderful Belghast: check the 2015 Blaugust Initiative Page

3 thoughts on “Una Eorzea renacida

  1. First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Cheers!

    Like

    1. Hi! Well the topic for a post usually post pops up during my drives to/from work. I ponder on it for a while and when I get to a computer I start a draft with the main points I want to touch on. From then, whenever I have a few free minutes, I just start writing whatever comes to mind to “fill the blanks” between the spots! There is the occasional random post in which I write in response to some news of the day or something, as well!

      So, once the topic is set, I write whenever I can. Some of my posts my seem disjointed in that sense, but work comes first – blogging comes as a hobby during my free time. It’s fun, though!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

