Sneaking Mission

Blaugust – Day 29

Game OSP

There’s a XV:ATR happening right now? Oh dear, I am so sorry, I was distracted! I’ve spent most of my afternoon in Afghanistan fultoning soldiers for my new Mother Base.

Indeed! I am playing the long-awaited Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain! How did I came up with a copy of it so early? Well, though I may share that as a blog post, as well as as-non-spoiler-as-possible impressions.

Too soon?

We have a local Facebook page that acts as a game seller. Yeah, not a physical store per se, but rather someone who sells games entirely via Facebook contacts. To top it off, the prices are decent – $85 for a new game (local stores sell games for no less than $100). So it turns out this “store” had its batch of copies delivered early – or at least as early as other stores I’ve seen all over the world that already sold their copies.

Of course, $85 is not something I carry in my pocket everyday, much less something I have spare in the budget for gaming. However, the perfect storm of circumstances happened! Stepson’s College entry exam had a $250 fee that due to his high grades in High School was completely waived by the state! So I immediately moved to procure the required funds, got in contact with the seller and a few hours later the game was in my hands!

A wild game appears!

Of course it wasn’t until night when I got the chance to play it. I had to get out of the office and go pick up the family. And then wait for dinner and such. The wife, who can’t really play anything beyond Plants vs Zombies and those CSI “touch to find” mobile games, happens to be a huge (HUGE) fan of Snake/Big Boss and his story, so we all had to be there!

I am still surprised I am playing this masterpiece over a week before release!

Impressions

So, how is the game? Well, I don’t mean to sound like every game reporter/journalist/tweetstar out there… but it is incredible so far. It’s the MGS formula (more specifically the Peace Walker formula) polished to stupid levels. It’s Ground Zeroes on steroids, and the map is absurdly big – and I’m only in the beginning!

The prologue of the game, serving as the tutorial, is the well-known hospital scene originally teased as a part of the fake game “The Phantom Pain” by “Moby Dick Studios“. However, playing through the thing is exhilarating! As a recently awoken Big Boss, having difficulty moving, you’re guided to escape a health institution being invaded by a mysterious force with once single task: killing you. It’s tense, powerful, terrible and scary. My wife said it better!

“It’s intense! I was on the verge of a heart attack!” – Sagacyte’s wife

V has come to

So far it looks and plays better than any Metal Gear before it. I fear talking more about it because of spoilers. But if you’re a Metal Gear fan I urge you to play it.

What am I saying? Any Metal Gear fan probably has this pre-ordered for months!


Want to know more about Blaugust? Do check the original information post made by the ever wonderful Belghast: check the 2015 Blaugust Initiative Page

Share your thoughts!

